Smolensk Nuclear power station, or Smolensk NPP, is a nuclear power station in Russia. It is located in the Smolensk region, in Desnogorsk province, approximately 150 km from Smolensk, 120 km from Bryansk and 320 km from Moscow. Smolensk Nuclear Power Plant is the biggest NPP in the Nechernozem region of Russia.

Smolensk Nuclear power station operates three RBMK-1000 reactors (1000MW water-cooled graphite-moderated channel-type reactors). The plant was supposed to have four units but the construction of the 4th reactor was stopped in 1986 following the Chernobyl disaster.

All the units are equipped with emergency response systems, which can prevent release of radioactive material into the environment even in case of serious accident; for example breakage of pipes in the reactor cooling circuit. The reactor cooling circuit is housed in hermetic reinforced concrete boxes that can withstand a force of 4.5 kg/cm2.

Unit Reactor type Net
Smolensk - 1 RBMK-1000 925 MW 1,000 MW
Smolensk - 2 RBMK-1000 925 MW 1,000 MW
Smolensk - 3 RBMK-1000 925 MW 1,000 MW
Smolensk - 4 RBMK-1000 925 MW 1,000 MW
Smolensk Nuclear Power Plant
Country Russia
Coordinates 54°10′8.98″N 33°14′47.89″E / 54.1691611°N 33.2466361°E / 54.1691611; 33.2466361
Status Operational
Construction began October 1, 1975
Commission date December 9, 1982
Operator(s) Energoatom

Reactor information
Reactors operational 3 x 1000 MW

Power generation information
Annual generation 5093 GW·h
Net generation 118,699 GW·h