The Higashidori Nuclear Power Plant is a nuclear power plant located in the town of Higashidōri in eastern Aomori Prefecture, on the Shimokita Peninsula, facing the Pacific Ocean. It is unique in Japan in that at this four-unit site, two units are run by one company, the Tōhoku Electric Power Company and two units are run by the Tokyo Electric Power Company. The reactors are all of Toshiba design.

Construction of Tohoku Electric's Higashidori Unit-1 began in December 1998 and was completed in December 2005. The design was based on Tohoku Electric's Onagawa Nuclear Power Plant Unit-3, with improvements to the reactor vessel to allow for greater ease in inspection and maintenance. A separate building, apart from the containment structure, is dedicated specifically for the heat exchanger system based on seawater to provide primary coolant for the reactor.

Reactors Run by Tohoku Electric Company

Unit Type First Criticality Electric Power
Higashidori - 1 BWR December 8, 2005 1100 MW
Higashidori - 2 (planned) ABWR Construction will start 2010 1385 MW

Reactors run by Tokyo Electric Company

Tepco began construction of its Higashidori-1 unit on January 25, 2011, after approval by METI.

Unit Type First Criticality Electric Power
Higashidori - 1 (planned) ABWR scheduled for completion in March 2017 1385 MW
Higashidori - 2 (planned) ABWR scheduled for completion in 2019 1385 MW
Higashidōri Nuclear Power Plant
Country Japan
Construction began 2000
Commission date December 8, 2005
Operator(s) Tōhoku Electric Power Company
Tokyo Electric Power Company

Reactor information
Reactors operational 1 x 1100 MW
Reactors planned 3 x 1385 MW

Power generation information
Annual generation 9,269 GW·h
Net generation 12,197 GW·h

Related Post