Tarapur Atomic Power Plant is located in Tarapur, Maharashtra (India). It was initially constructed with two boiling water reactor (BWR) units of 160 MW each by Bechtel and GE under the 1963 123 Agreement between India, the United States, and the International Atomic Energy Agency. Units 1 and 2 were brought online for commercial operation on October 28, 1969. These were the first of their kind in Asia. More recently, an additional two pressurised heavy water reactor (PHWR) units of 540 MW each were constructed by L & T and Gammon India, seven months ahead of schedule and well within the original cost estimates. Unit 3 was brought online for commercial operation on August 18, 2006, and unit 4 on September 12, 2005.

With a total capacity of 1400 MW, Tarapur Atomic Power Plant is the largest nuclear power station in India. The facility is operated by the Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited. The personnel operating the power plant live in a residential complex called T. A. P. S. colony, which is a fifteen minute drive from Boisar, the nearest railway station. The residential complex was also constructed by Bechtel to house both Indian and American employees. Due to this, the residential complex had a very American small-town look, with neat sidewalks, spacious houses, a club with tennis courts, swimming pool, a commissary etc. While the original American residents have long gone, the colony continues to thrive.

The residential colony now features 3 central schools run under Atomic Energy Education Society (AEES). The local beach at Chinchani is approximately 7 kilometres (4.3 mi) from the colony.

Tarapur Atomic Power Station
Country India
Construction began 1962
Commission date October 28, 1969
Operator(s) Nuclear Power Corporation of India LTD.

Reactor information
Reactors operational 2 x 160 MW
2 x 540 MW

Power generation information
Annual generation 4,829 GW·h
Net generation 71,188 GW·h

Related Post